

## **Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) School Student Application**

The State of Colorado's Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) program has received national acclaim for its success in identifying and prosecuting drug impaired drivers. Although the focus of the DRE curricula is on the identification of the drug impaired driver, DRE skills are applied to many different law enforcement activities. In addition, DREs are frequently called upon to differentiate between drug impairment and medical issues. The certified DRE is a valuable tool for combating impaired driving.

Due to class size, the needs of the State, and budget constraints, not all applicants will be accepted. Further, if the applicant is successful, it should be noted that the DRE School is extremely demanding. To receive certification as a DRE, all phases of training must be completed.

**Academic Training-** This phase is typically conducted over a two-week period. It includes courses in physiology, vital signs, standardized field sobriety testing (SFST), as well as extensive material on each of the seven categories of drugs. The training includes three written examinations, an SFST proficiency examination, and five written quizzes. Students must achieve a minimum score of 80% on all written examinations and must demonstrate proficiency in administering the SFSTs to progress to the certification phase.

Certification Phase- After successfully completing the academic portion, the students return to their agencies.

The student is required to complete the following within six months following the DRE School:

Conduct a minimum of 12 drug influence evaluations.

- Identify a minimum of three (3) of the seven (7) drug categories.
- Obtain a 75% toxicological confirmation rate.
- Maintain a progress log, rolling log, and submit a curriculum vitae.
- Pass the comprehensive Final Knowledge Exam with the endorsement of two DRE Instructors.
- Complete the certification process in 6 months or less.

The International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) and the Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) are the regulating and certifying organizations for the DRE Program. DRE certification is valid for two years. To maintain certification, DREs are required to complete (as the evaluator) a minimum of four evaluations (one of which is observed by a DRE Instructor), submit a rolling log and current resume, attend 8 hours of training approved by the State DRE Coordinator during this period to remain active, and enter all evaluations into the national database.

The IACP and CO DRE standards are provided for your review at: <a href="https://www.codot.gov/safety/dre">https://www.codot.gov/safety/dre</a>. Review these standards prior to completing this application.

### **COVID Precautions**

CDOT in coordination with DRE Instructors will take into consideration governmental and county mandates and protocols, as necessary. Daily health screenings, sanitation stations, and social distancing will be practiced when possible.

# **Drug Recognition Expert (DRE) School Student Application**

To apply for the DRE School, you must be a certified Colorado Peace Officer in compliance with all the Colorado Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) requirements. You must be currently certified in the NHTSA/IACP 24 hr. Basic SFST Class. You must have successfully attended the NHTSA Advance Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE) class. Please note that the on-line ARIDE class does not qualify for this requirement. It is preferred that the applicant have traffic enforcement experience, specifically regarding impaired driving enforcement and courtroom testimony.

The DRE School is free. CDOT will cover the cost of instruction, materials, and lodging (if applicable) for applicants selected to attend. Vehicle expenses, mileage, and wages are not compensated. Breakfast is included at the hotel if lodging is approved. Lunch is provided, free of cost, on classroom days for all attendees.

#### **Application Checklist-**

- o Completed Student Application
- o SFST Basic Certificate
- o ARIDE Certificate
- o Training Certificates to confirm 2hr SFST update, demonstrating continued compliance
- o Copy of your CV
- o Letter of Support from your Command Staff
- Any documentation that will support your application

#### **Applicant Information-**

•	Name:	Rank:	
•	Current Assignment:		
	Agency:		
•	Address:		
	Email Address:		
Certification Information-			
•	Date of SFST 24 hr. Basic Certification Class:		<u> </u>
•	Date of last recertification:		
•	Number of Alcohol Impaired Driving Arrests:		-
•	Number of Drug Impaired Driving Arrests:		

#### **Submission Instructions-**

Please collect and complete all sections of this application. Scan all documents into a **single** PDF file and email that file to <u>kimberly.ferber@state.co.us</u> by Friday, March 12<sup>th</sup>, 2021.